Tetun Português English


Progress with Indonesia on maritime boundaries

Indonesia is made up of over 17,000 islands and shares maritime boundaries with ten States. Indonesia has now agreed on maritime boundary segments with Malaysia, Australia, Thailand, Singapore, India, Papua New Guinea, Vietnam and the Philippines. Indonesia has commenced negotiations with Palau, and in February 2015 offered to commence maritime boundaries negotiations with Timor-Leste. Following a meeting between the Prime Minister of Timor-Leste, His Excellency Dr Rui Araújo and the President of Indonesia, His Excellency Joko Widodo in August 2015, Timor-Leste and Indonesia commenced talks on maritime boundaries in September 2015.

Timor-Leste is pleased with the progress made with Indonesia. In their initial consultations on maritime boundaries both States affirmed that the position of a permanent maritime boundary should be negotiated in accordance with international law, particularly the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea.

Formal negotiations on maritime boundaries will begin in 2016.

  • Timor-Leste's Prime Minister Rui Maria de Araújo talks with Indonesia’s President Joko Widodo during an official visit to Indonesia in August 2015.
  • The Timor-Leste delegation at the second consultation in Surabaya, Indonesia.
  • The first round of consultations in Dili, Timor-Leste.
  • The Timor-Leste delegation at Surabaya, Indonesia.