Hosting American Council of Young Political Leaders (ACYPL) (6-11 March 2017, Díli, Timor-Leste)

Tuesday 29th June, 2021

H.E. Prime Minister Dr Rui Maria de Araújo established a strong connection with ACYPL leadership during an official visit to Washington DC in September 2016. Subsequently, the Timor-Leste Government and ACYPL have developed a cooperative partnership to deliver an Educational Exchange Program. As part of the exchange program, Maritime Boundary Office hosted a delegation of 5 ACYPL guests from the United States from 6 – 11 March 2017. The delegates were Ellie Casson, Office of Government Affairs and Strategic Partnerships, Airbnb; the Honorable James Diossa, Mayor of Central Falls, Rhode Island; the Honorable Aaron Lawlor, Chairman of Lake Country Board, Illinois; Libby Rosenbaum, Interim CEO of ACYPL; and Stacey Walter Fujii, Chairman of ACYPL Board.

The visit provided an opportunity for the delegates to learn about the history of Timor-Leste. They met with the key leaders including H.E. Prime Minister Dr Rui Maria de Araújo, H.E. Minister Kay Rala Xanana Gusmão, Chief Negotiator, H.E. Minister Agio Pereira and H.E. Dr José Ramos-Horta. They also spoke with young political leaders at the National Youth Council (CNJTL), visited the Alola Foundation and travelled to the districts to visit a USAID agricultural project in Atabae and stayed in Balibo.

The delegates were briefed on the significance of the maritime delimitation for Timor-Leste.

As part of the Educational Exchange Program, a delegation of young political leaders from Timor-Leste will visit the United States in Washington in October 2017. The program aims to give young Timorese leaders a hands-on experience of the role that civil society plays in policy making.